PC’s retain Three Seats in Legislature

The PC’s held on to three seats in the legislature. By-elections were held yesterday in the ridings of Argyle-Barrington in southwestern Nova Scotia and Northside-Westmount and Sydney River-Mira-Louisbourg in Cape Breton.

Colton LeBlanc of the Tories won handily in Argyle-Barrington, while Murray Ryan of the PC’s captured Northside-Westmount, beating out six other candidates, including two independents. Conservative candidate Brian Comer took Sydney River-Mira-Louisbourg, with a 900 vote cushion over the Liberal candidate.

The seats became vacant after Tory incumbents Chris d’Entremont, Eddie Orrell and Alfie MacLeod stepped down to run in October’s federal election.