Proudfoot Motors

Professors recognized for exceptional work at St. FX Spring Convocation

St. FX University honoured  five  members of faculty at Spring Convocation.  Two received the prestigious title of Professor Emeritus for their long service to St. FX, Dr. Burton MacDonald in the Department of Religious Studies and Dr. Daniel MacInnes of the Department of Sociology.

The president’s research award goes to Dr. Lavinia Stan of the Department of Political Science, an internationally renowned expert in transitional justice, post-communism, democratic transitions and consolidation, religions and politics.

The University also presented two Outstanding Teaching Awards  One was presented Dr. Kailin Wright of the Department of English.  A specialist in Canadian Literature and Drama, Wright is an advocate for Canadian and Indigenous Literature on Campus.  She has also given students a chance to meet and chat with the writers they are studying.
The second Outstanding Teaching Award went to Dr. Truis Smith-Palmer of the Department of Chemistry.  Smith-Palmer is recognized for her engaging teaching style, demonstrating chemistry’s relevance in today’s world.