St.FX Athletics

Posted at 8:52 am on November 14, 2017

St. FX University has weighed in on the decision by a Nova Scotia Court Judge  to reinstate the Loney Bowl.  The game was initially cancelled by Atlantic University Sport, amid concerns about the eligibility of a Saint Mary’s Huskies receiver.  It will be played today; Acadia will host Saint Mary’s.
In a statement, St. FX Athletics Director Leo MacPherson says the university believes in academic excellence and the integrity of university athletics.  MacPherson says unfortunately over the past couple of weeks, integrity for student-athlete eligibility rules have taken centre stage.  MacPherson says beyond obvious ethical and education considerations, St. FX contends that without integrity in university sport, there can be no fair play and competition.
MacPherson says the court decision decided upon issues of due process, but did not address the issue of student-athlete ineligibility.  MacPherson encourages Saint Mary’s University to remove any impediments that may prevent U Sports from making a ruling on the student-athlete eligibility and release the ruling to the public.

Posted at 8:48 am on November 2, 2017

During the afternoon and evening Tuesday night, you may have noticed people lending assistance to families during trick-or-treating here in Antigonish. Student athletes from St.FX were positioned at busy crosswalks through town, helping people cross the street safely.
Cst. Morgan MacPherson says that the RCMP greatly apprecaites the assistance given by the athletes during Halloween:
MacPherson says having the athletes volunteer gives peace of mind to parents that they’ll get home safely.

Posted at 10:35 am on September 29, 2017

Four members of the St.FX sports community were inducted into the school’s Hall of Fame last evening at a school ceremony. The ceremony honoured athletes and

(from Left) Hall of Fame recipients Leanne MacDonald, Gail MacDougall, James Shea and John “Bunny” Griffin.

pioneers who have positively shaped the athletics department at St.FX.

Former sports journalist with The Casket, Gail MacDougall was honoured in the ‘builder’ category of the ceremony, and was recognized for her constant presence on the sidelines of all sporting event involving St.FX. MacDougall says that her passion for sports started at an early age, and has continued throughout her life:
The induction ceremony featured a first for the school; a female hockey player making their way into the famed hall. Leanne MacDonald, graduate from 2001 and Little Judique native was the first star in the modern era of the X-Women program.
MacDonald was the first player in school history to be recognized as All Canadian; receiving the honour twice. MacDondald says she is so proud to have been part of the team in the early years when they finally started to compete on a national level:
MacDonald, while on defense, helped push the female university hockey program locally into a national spotlight.  Other inductees included former Casket sports journalist Gail MacDougall and football players John “Bunny” Griffin, and James Shea.

Posted at 10:05 am on July 20, 2017

An annual golf tournament that honors a late member of the community is fast approaching. The Father Kehoe Golf Classic is entering it’s 24th year and is named in honor of former StFX Athletic Director Father George Kehoe who passed away in a tragic automobile accident in 1991.
Father Kehoe graduated from StFX in 1952 and was a three sport athlete in hockey, basketball, and rugby. He returned to campus as the men’s hockey coach in 1961 and coached for eleven years including participation in four national championships, becoming the winningest hockey coach in StFX history.
The tournament will be held on Friday, July 28th, 2017 at the Antigonish Golf & Country Club.

Posted at 9:44 am on June 27, 2017

Sad news from St. FX Athletics. Former star running back for the X-Men football team, Ashton Dickson has died. In 5 seasons with X, Dickson rushed for 683 yards, received for 527 and had 22 touchdowns. Dickson was also named the 2015 AUS Football MVP.
Reports say that Dickson was killed in an Ottawa club early Monday morning. Ottawa Police sent out a tweet asking for those who were in the bar to come forward with any evidence. Dickson was just 25 years old.

Posted at 10:12 am on March 30, 2017

The St.FX Athletics department will be having their annual charity event on Friday at the Oland Centre. St.FX Student Athletes will complete in many events, including relay races, slam dunk contests, lip sync battles and a pudding eating contest. The entire community is welcomed to attend, and the youth are encouraged to participate alongside their favorite St.FX athletes. The event is in support of “Kid Sport”. The event starts at 6:00 Friday evening.

Posted at 12:53 pm on February 10, 2017

St. FX Athletics paid tribute its 2015-2016 Academic all-Canadians at an event Thursday.  This past season, the university had a record 73 Academic All-Canadians, who achieved an average of 80 per cent or better while playing on a varsity team.  That’s up from 61 Academic All-Canadians in the 2014-2015 school year.

Posted at 12:28 pm on January 25, 2017

Today is Bell Let’s Talk day, a day that raises awareness around Mental Health stigma around the country. AUS has been heavily involved in raising awareness for this campaign over the years, including this year, by using a strong social media presence.

X-Men Football coach Gary Waterman says he is proud to see such engagement for the campaign at the university sports level country wide:


Bell will donate 5 cents  more to mental health initiatives for every: text, call, tweet & post using #BellLetsTalk. To date, the campaign has raised nearly 80 million dollars over the last 6 years

Posted at 1:11 pm on January 15, 2016

St. FX Athletics honoured its 2014-15 Academic All-Canadians at a breakfast this morning on campus. This year, St. FX had 61 Academic All-Canadians who have achieved an 80% average or above while competing on a varsity team. Among them was former X-Women Hockey standout Alex Normore, a five time Academic All-Canadian. There were also four sets of siblings on this prestigious list.